Making My Mark

St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada

Happiness is not something ready made. It comes from your own actions.- Dalai Lama

After much introspection, I realized that happiness is a choice yet so many of us are unhappy most the time. There are many reasons why but most of the time we choose something else over happiness, we think that it often takes less effort to be unhappy. Make my own happiness the priority, is probably the biggest I’m working on right now.

For way too long, my focus was on other people’s happiness at the expense of my own, thinking it would be reciprocated at some point. It used to make me happy seeing other people happy. I found joy and hope in it. And then it dragged on for so long, it got to where I resented their happiness and felt used because I was stuck in stagnated limbo while they moved forward and upward.

Stagnation and limbo while their priorities take precedence just doesn’t work for me anymore, not when it’s to the point of making me miserable and preventing me from moving forward and upward as well. Now, I realize my own happiness has to be the priority, and if it helps someone else, that’s the bonus.

Today I was in the back alley and decided to leave my mark by tagging (Loving xo). Okay I know I should have but I was using it as a therapeutic exercise so it makes it okay (well in my mind).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.