Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

Protest!

This morning my carpenter came round to discuss the loft conversion, and the good news is, he can start next Saturday. Even better, he can also solve a little electrical problem I wasn't sure how to resolve.
He can also rehouse my old wardrobe on the same day, which means I can move my clothes before the workmen come to make a hole in the roof and place the permanent stairs. Sweet!

After he'd gone I went up to the loft and moved everything down to the spare room, and swept the loft. Empty, it looks good, I'm loving the beams, looking forward to sanding and painting them.
I've photographed the current folding stairway and have placed an ad. on the Dutch equivalent of Ebay. Fingers crossed...

Later on I went to feed the urban pigs, Vlekkie and Spekkie, and fed them half a cucumber each.

Round the corner, in front of the council offices, a sit-down protest was being held (literally) on the fountain.
It was designed by a Dutch sculptor, Joop Beljon (in Dutch), and the council are threatening to demolish it to make way for a Primark shop.

Imposing and made with large blocks of concrete, it has a Marmite quality; people seem to either love or hate it.

I took a photograph of it last November. (This photo later went on to be used for the theatre brochure, which was great).

I got chatting to the protestors, one of whom came originally from Wales, having moved here thirty years ago with his mother.
Small world really!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.