Cooking!

Part of our new lifestyle here in Seattle is that we need to cook more at home to save money, to eat healthier, to learn to cook so eventually we will be able to feed children, etc. In NY, we ate out or got take out almost every meal!

I am not a great cook but I am trying to learn a bit and enjoy it. I am definitely the kind of person who can specifically follow a very detailed recipe but I need to be told exactly what to do, when to do it, and how to do it! I can't make up anything on my own! Today, I started with several new recipes that I would like to try this week and tried for the first time to actually plan meals ahead of time. (Do people really do that in real life? I am not sure how long that will last!) I went off to the store armed with a great healthy list of ingredients!

I, of course, knew I would get in trouble for blipping in the store. Indeed, this was the second photo I took in the store and I was instantly pounced on by employees who wondered what I was doing and if they could "help me". I always play totally dumb and say something like "Oh, I just thought the produce was so pretty" and I give them a dumb smile. Today I took it even further and asked the man to help me pick out a ripe mango (which totally distracted him from the fact that I had just blipped)!

I struggled with this one for a long time for such a simple photo - I could never get the color balance quite right because of those strange store lights so in the end I gave up and made it black and white. My favorite part is the little glimpse of the old man in the background.

p.s. I made lasagna tonight and it was just "ok" - need to get a better recipe next time! I took pictures but it looked much worse than it was. You may see a lot of food blips in the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.