An Apple a Day...

By anappleaday

A New Path

Today I discovered a new and (super, awesome, wonderful, unbelievable, fantastic, etc. etc.) running trail route with whom I am just beginning a love affair!
This beautiful trail winds through meadows and forests that look like Amazon jungles, with ferns and moss, and logs and rocks. It goes up hills and down hills and around bends and I enjoyed every second of it - even when it was difficult.

I have been trying to start running again (part of the new healthy lifestyle thing). Running is something I used to love that made me feel relaxed and content and powerful and helped me to learn to trust in my body and the amazing things it can do when I treat it right. I got away from it for a couple of years and it is very hard to start again, especially with all the comparisons to my former self and what I used to be able to do. Today, on this trail, was the first time I have caught even a glimpse of my former self and it felt wonderful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.