Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Mucky Trainers

So after a disturbed night (not W for once, he actually slept through), I woke at 7am to pouring rain. not what you want when you are running quite a long way. So instead of heading to Peterborough on the train I took the car. Mistake! the A1 was shut at St. Neots and there were no diversion signs, so I had to tootle blindly through the Cambridgeshire country side until by a miracle I hit the A14. It added 40mins to my journey.

When I got to Peterborough because I was late I couldn't get in a car park so had to abandon the car in a NISA carpark about a mile or so from the start and hope it wasn't clamped when I returned. I got to the embankment with 15mins to go and rapidly dumped my bag and got myself sorted.

Anyway it was still raining and continued to do so through out the race. That was not a problem, more of an issue was the wind which was cold and not helpful when you are already soaked. But all that taken into consideration I ran pretty well. Not a PB but the fastest I have run since W and considering my training runs only once went over 7 miles I can't complain. I would do it again, if it was nice weather it would be a good course. It wrecked my trainers though, this is what they used to be like!

Thanks to Jim who held the fort admirably at home while I went out running.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.