BabyMaybe

By BabyMaybe

IVF Journey: Third IVF day 49

This is my IVF diary. My husband and I have been trying to have a baby for four years now, and have a diagnosis of 'unexplained infertility'. We have finally reached the top of the waiting list for IVF - a form of assisted conception. I'm blogging about what happens as it happens, as a kind of therapy for me and as an awareness raising exercise of what IVF is all about.

The other day someone interviewed me for their MBA thesis on entrepreneurial women and how they balance their businesses with their personal life.

She was super interested in the IVF and how that all fits in with my self employment.

She asked me if making sacrifices and all of the unexpectedness of IVF had a negative impact on my business. Fair question, and actually when I went into this I expected that it would. That’d I’d work less and focus less and earn less.

But I had to say no – that day-to-day juggling IVF and running a business could feel overwhelming and like a bit of a battle, but that as my first six months’ turnover (and profit) this year is well up on last year I had to concede that in the big scheme of things, things are actually going really well.

Made me feel quite good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.