Yellow Admiral

Vanessa itea, a native of New Zealand and Australia. I also saw a red admiral (Vanessa gonerilla gonerilla) today. This is not a good image- taken with zoom on my compact and severely cropped.

The lilac flowers are a few that are left on the downwind side of the bush. Last Saturday it was a magnificent sight, but like so many of my trees and bushes it is shredded. Everywhere is littered with wilted lilac blooms, bruised young leaves, little plums and apricots.

I feel shredded too. I was stiff and achey from the rescue of the greenhouse from a neighbour's paddock last night, and today all the bits needed to be shifted from close to the road to a safe place. Folding the canopy was a challenge. I made shelters for the exposed greenhouse grape vines. Hope they cope with the wind. There seemed to be so many things that could not be put off to another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.