Another Snowfall

I was on deck at 5 am to fight the frost. There was a smattering of snow on the ground. It glittered in my torchlight and crackled underfoot. The covers on the greenhouse grapes were frozen hard. I looked at the fruit trees and saw they were all coated in a thin film of ice. That meant that I didn't have to spray them with water. There was nothing more I could do for them. Time will tell what damage has been done.

At sunup I went for a walk with my camera. I was surprised to see that the mountains had missed out on the snow that dusted the hills. Best seen large.

It was a lovely sunny day. I had a lot of things to do, but my body went on strike. Mostly I sat in the warm sunshine and listened to Dickens' Little Dorrit, read by the excellent Mil Nicholson, who brings each character to life. It is one of several complete novels I have on my iPod. I also watched an episode of The Miss Fisher Mysteries, a delightfully entertaining series.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.