middaypyjamas

By middaypyjamas

Kanagawa meets Brunswick

I spotted this little piece of doorway art a few weeks ago, it's attached to the outer wall of the old brickworks factory who's smokestacks I've blipped in the past (see here.) I decided today that it was going to be my blip and as I had to drive down to the shops anyway I would have a slight detour and get some photos of it. The wave in the doorway is part of the painting The Great Wave off Kanagawa (see the painting here) which I've always thought was a really cool piece of art.

I took a lot of photos of the doorway up close, and the wave up close and a few angled shots but it wasn't really doing it for me. It wasn't until I crossed the road and started taking more wide shots that it all came together. I realised the context of this little piece of ancient art hidden away on the side of an inner city ex brickworks factory is what made me like the whole thing in the first place, so of course I needed to show that context.

I think it's beautiful and like the idea that instead of plastering advertising everywhere possible, we should have more art around the place. I think that's why I'm drawn to amazing graffiti so often, it's a nice reprieve from the constant advertisements and tagging you see all over the city. Throw up a bit of Monet! Put up billboards of Van Gogh! I'd love to see some Dali on my way to work! It may not make the world a better place, but it'd make this twenty six year old that little bit happier...an maybe a few other people too.

-Damian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.