Flaming Foliage

I've scheduled quite a few Fridays and a couple of Mondays in October as vacation days, in hopes of getting some chances to get out there and watch the colors turn.

This particular Monday started with a drizzle that delayed our trip to the woods, but only for a bit. By noon, we were on our way to Black Moshannon, a state park that's a short drive from our home.

We found the foliage colors around the lake itself to be mostly just a bit past peak. However, when we walked down by the naturalist building and explored the first section of the Lake Trail, we found an area of foliage that I thought seemed pretty much "peak." This is one of the photos I took in that area. (Yes, I took many.)

I sometimes ponder to myself what it is that brings me back to the woods, what it is that makes me fall in love with autumn each year when it arrives. It's like a new love affair each and every time. The colors dance. I find new beauties in places I've walked without noticing before. Fresh magic waits around each corner.

In the end, I think it comes down to this. I like to think of the great flaming foliage show - which is, quite honestly, among the very best of what Pennsylvania's outdoors have to offer - as nature's last great big celebration; the biggest and best party of the year! And so, whatever you do, don't miss the dance!

The soundtrack for the the year's last, best, most beautiful dance: Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes, (I've Had) The Time of My Life, from one of my very favorite movies, Dirty Dancing.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.