shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

The National Team

I think this must (please, please) be true not only of the Scotland teams, but of other countries' representatives too - the viewing public veers between cheering joyfully and wanting to kill them. I find it even more depressing for linguistic reasons. In Russian there are two words for the single English term 'team', one a generic one for a group of people performing a task cooperatively, and one for the selected best possible members chosen to represent their country due to a high level of skill in that particular area. Hmm... I will refrain from further comment. Here's hoping that the joyful cheering will be what characterises tonight!

[EDIT: 2:0!!! Actually I should have guessed we'd win, we often win the ones we shouldn't, then crash and burn playing teams even worse than we are!]

I should say that my friend who got married on Saturday posted a picture of herself on Facebook on Sunday with Gordon Strachan, who was nice enough to wish the bride and groom a wonderful honeymoon when they met him at the hotel on Sunday. The groom being from Northern Ireland, I don't think he wasn't as interested to have his picture taken with the Scotland manager!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.