Life In Wales

By KarenC

Pier into the Sunset

I had some very exciting news today. A couple of weeks ago Alan & I took part in the Scott Kelby Worldwide Photowalk - our group walk was in Brighton and the theme was colour. After the walk we had to choose our favourite photo of the day and upload it onto Scott's competition website. There are winner's from each photo walk which are then entered into the Worldwide competition, and I've been notified that my photo has won the Brighton walk! It's the first time I've entered a photographic competition and I'm over the moon! You can see my winning entry here. There was a guy blowing enormous bubbles, and this was the end result when the bubble was about to blow into the air - there was no processing of the colours, it's actually SOOC.

Apparently Scott will be getting in touch with me shortly with my prize which is his book, Lightroom 5. The winner of the Worldwide competition will be announced on 21st October, and the fantastic prize valued at $13,000 including a Canon EOS 70D - I very much doubt I'll win that though!

In other news today - it's been a glorious day, so Louis & I had another early morning walk at the beach, and then I went into Rottingdean to join a French conversation group that I've recently found. It's held in the local Church hall, and the lady that runs it only charges £3 which goes to charity. It's a shame that it's on the same day as my normal French lesson, but I enjoyed it, and at least it put me in the mood for tonight.

When I got home, I actually had my lunch sat in the garden and then read my French book ready for my lesson. It was only about 13 degrees, but our garden is very sheltered and sunny, so it was really pleasant.

I decided to go into town early tonight so I could watch the sun set from the Pier. I took lots of photos, but this is my favourite which I took walking towards the old West Pier - I was amazed to see so many birds!

Anyway, it's late, so I'd better try and catch up with your journals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.