Lady Luck.....

....was smiling today.

First for the skipper, second for the spider, and third for me. The only critter that didn't luck out was the fly being eaten by the spider. But it did give its life to save the skipper, which would have been a goner for sure, if the spider wasn't busy elsewhere.

I was lucky because, naturally enough, I didn't notice the spidery legs at all, until I looked at the image on the computer. AND.... it's blowing a gale today, a nasty hot northerly, although a cool change and showers are expected late in the evening. So I set the camera to TV, and a very fast shutter speed to cope with the wind.

This is a common little Southern Grass-Dart (Ocybadistes walkeri hypochlorus), which flies from late September to early May, so this is one of the early ones.

Dicing with death

I nearly forgot - thanks so much for all your very kind comments on my Lesser Wanderer butterfly yesterday. I've been a bad blipper this past few days, and have made very few comments. Busy, busy. busy...you know how it is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.