Dilemma

I've been growing these Peruvian lilies for decades. They emerge from their bulbs mid winter, flower in mid spring, and in between times generally mind their own business.

The flower doesn't last very long, but it is pretty and the bees seem to like it.

But this particular flower is showing a trait I find a bit disturbing - and I've never seen it before.

Those little oniony things in the centre are bulbils - a tiny secondary bulbs, which if scattered will grow into big plants.

We live very close to bush land, and I can just imagine the havoc if these heretofore innocent flowers escaped into the bush - they'd become weeds. And weeds are a terrible problem in the Australian bush.

So, I am going to pull them all out at the end of the season, and try and dispose of them responsibly. I'll put in some Australian bush plants instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.