Rodents rule

By squirk

Bubble

Someone was making huge bubbles in Trafalgar Square. Hooray for a bliportunity.

It was a dull, rainy day and not very inspiring. However, I talked myself into going to the jive class. It doesn't begin until 8pm, so it's a great opportunity to sit in the pub for a couple of hours and read my book. It's nice to have some reading time. The class, only my second one, started with a stroll. I was completely foot-tied at the beginning, but I got it by the third time we tried. If my mind wandered even a little bit, my feet got tied up again. Since it's a group dance, people can really tell when someone's got confused with the "am I going left or right?" stuff.

Afterwards, we danced with partners again. The class is great in that you don't need to go with a partner - there are enough people who can lead and who can partner the followers. Two of those people who ladies, one of which was really helpful in instructing me as to how I should hold my arms - elbows by my side and hands out like I'm holding a tea tray when I turn. This makes it easier for the lead to take my hand on the return. As with last week, there was a lot of spinning. This time, there was a move that really was like magic - you wouldn't think it would work, but... Amazing. And a huge amount of fun. I particularly enjoyed dancing with an older gentleman who had his own particular style. He told me about his daughter and grand-daughter as he "doop-de-dooed" and led me twirling around the room.

Class is off for two weeks for half-term, but that works out nicely since I'm going to two concerts, one on each of the Mondays to come. I'm not going to miss anything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.