Dotty

By Dotty

Day 26 - Sober for October

Out of focus and bombed by a mad aunty :)

Whitby was awesome yesterday. We stopped off to see the tail end of a hunt and the biggest hounds I've ever seen being boxed up. There is something quite beautiful, no matter what your politics or stand on hunting to see the master in pinks standing in the mist with a tired and happy hound. And there was a lot of mist!

The boys had their annual pilgrimage to their sweet shop (we don't have sweets at home although I've relaxed with the stuff they bring home from parties now) and I had my stance on sweets vindicated: the poor things were on such a high they hardly knew left from right. And we got kippers from the best smokery in the world which we all had for breakfast this morning.

The sea was too rough for a boat trip but we saw a suitably Gothic wedding up at St Mary's church, the inaugural annual Salted Licourice Herring Sucking competition was established AND I managed to get the photo of Whitby Abbey I've been after for years. Even better was that the Abbey was closed and I had to trespass to get it.

There's only one thing better than the perfect photo and that's an illegally got perfect photo :)

Oh and Aunty Mim and I were taught how to play Uno. We are addicted!

And I made MORE fire!! This one was way bigger and was a hot dog fire. Quite different from a marshmallow fire. I am now an expert in beach fires. And slightly addicted.

This holiday is proving to be the best ever. In the whole wide world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.