Dotty

By Dotty

Day 25 - Sober for October

The best of days yesterday.

We braved the gales and went to Robin Hood's Bay. As a child our annual day out (yes, we were *that* poor!) consisted of a drive across the moors stopping to picnic at Fylingdales then onto Robin Hood's Bay and Whitby, where Mum had crab claws and we had winkles. It is the single most beautiful little village in the world which just happens to do the best fish n chips. Two deep-fried carb-laden meals in one week and we are truly done!

Then the skies cleared and we got back to our beach and I finally managed to make a fire! I can't begin to describe the visceral sense of achievement. It involved a 3 foot deep pit, kindling, firelighters, gallons of accelerant and a small child used as a windbreak. But I did it! And we made new chums old & young who came to admire and then join us toasting marshmallows.

Teddy's turn to make me cry. "The best thing about you, Mum is that you always keep your promises and you never give up". I don't think I could wish for a better eulogy.

And then to tie up the most perfect of days - Aunty Mim arrived and we went for a torchlit evening walk on the beach.

I'm in heaven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.