Comfort Food

Sausage, baked potato, Yorkshire pudd and beans,
hot and tasty comfort food, giving me the means
to sit for ninety minutes in the doctor's waiting room
to be told 'Come back tomorrow' and drive home in the gloom.

Admittedly, after an hour, they did come in and say the doctor had been called out and there would be a delay and would I like to make a new appointment? Just as I was making one, the receptionist spotted the doctor's car return. So I opted to wait after all. Over half an hour later, another receptionist tells me, Sorry, the doctor's been called out again. So ... I go back tomorrow. Add on the travel time and that was two hours written off. Bah humbug. Silly thing is, I don't quite know why she wants to see me; they rang me last week asking me to come in today. But I guess it's cough- or rib-related. Glad I had a nice lunch before I set off! (And I made enough Yorkshires to put some in the freezer, so 'tomorrow's another day' in more ways than one.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.