MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Incy Wincy Has An Egg For Brunch?

Lovely sunshine this morning so I went in search of bugs. I have two happy hunting grounds, both south-facing with vegetation against brick walls. They absorb the sun's heat and radiate it, which invigorates the bugs.

Various ladybirds were cavorting on a dogwood bush. Various grasshoppers were climbing the wall of number thirteen. A female was desperately looking for somewhere to lay. Spiders were basking and I also shot a plume moth, an ichneumon wasp and a selection of weevils.

The most interesting thing was the jumping spider in my pic. It looks like a zebra spider but was so much smaller than any I have seen. I took my first shot then noticed it was on top of something. I tickled it gently, it retreated and this egg was revealed. It watched as I shot the egg and then pounced, cat-like, on top of it again.

The egg looks as though it could be a moth's? Is such a tiny spider a zebra spider? Do zebra spiders eat moth eggs?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.