Talking Turkey

Today was the day my front path was to have the concrete removed, boxing put in place and concrete poured. The strip of damaged asphalt in driveway against my house was to be removed and the earth compacted in preparation for laying new asphalt tomorrow.

The forecast has consistently suggested rain late today or overnight. So the plan changed to removing concrete and putting boxing in, but holding off laying the concrete. Asphalting was put on hold but all the cutting was to be done so it can be lifted and replaced as weather and timing allows.

It's 4.15pm. So far there are numerous cuts in the concrete path and an enormous mallet has cracked it where earthquakes missed. There is dried mucky stuff from the cutting sprayed on the house and fences but no blokes to be seen.

Ah, but it looks like rain coming from the south so one part of the day might work out ;-)

I'm guessing everything will eventually fall into place so I'll put it to one side. Can't help thinking when the main guy told me around 1pm they'd be back later with the big truck to lift the concrete, he was talking turkey ;-)

Since I was home today I've shown light domestic flair, sorted some goodies to send to Mum and Dad, packed my gear for this weekend's trip to the hills and washed the Fur Child's bedding.

The problem with the washed Fur Child bedding is I need to retrieve it from the clothes line and it's blowing a gale. To get it in before the rain comes I'll need to try to slide the ranch slide open between gusts and avoid the outside coming inside. Wish me luck ;-)

I'm expecting the weather to be fine in the hills for the weekend, a small interlude before the next spring system rolls on in. I'm sure we'll have wind but as long as there is no rain as the hut doesn't have heating.

Yep, they breed them tough where I come from ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.