Alive, alive-oh!

The tide was low so I made my way down to Goodwick beach with a canister of salt, intending to hunt razor clams. But as soon as I had got out to the end of the groyne I started to notice cockles lying on the surface. So I took off my boots and paddled through the shallows to compete with the gulls that were noisily feasting a bit further out.

I've been told that there were cockles here but never before have I found more than a handful. But here were plenty, and easy to spot: little corrugated hearts* peeping out of the sand. Bigger too than the ones I often buy that come from Penclawdd near Llanelli, many of these were 3 or 4 centimetres across.

It was a warm day and the water was pleasantly tepid. Soft mud squished between my toes. I gathered several dozen cockles although the razor clams eluded me. Clouds rolled in as I quartered the beach, the incoming tide licked at the bare sand and Casey, who doesn't do seafood, started to shiver.

My cockle haul (inset) went into a delicious chowder, along with bacon, butter, wine, vegetables and cream. (Note how the shells exactly mimic the colours of the shingle.)

Previously on Pembrokeshire beaches
Razor clams
Mussels
Limpets

*The etymology of the expression 'to warm the cockles of your heart' is obscure but might be associated with their shape. See here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.