Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

The hunt for the Red Lady

Here lies the "Red Lady" - find out more here.

When researching my family tree some years ago, I became intrigued with one particular relative. I had heard that she is buried in Pilrig Cemetery. However, I've never been able to locate her grave, and my only link was my auntie Lena who said that she had remembered going to see her granny's grave, and having to pass the grave of the Red Lady.

Last night I was running a chat on Twitter #EdinHour (once a month, second Wednesday at 9 pm), and the subject was Dark Edinburgh. One of the participants started Tweeting in pics of the aforementioned Red Lady, and told me she was in Warriston Cemetery. A quick search of the net and the story was confirmed.

Today I went to Warriston and found the grave. Seriously vandalised years ago. There is some work being done by the Friends of Warriston to clean up the cemetery, but large parts are completely overgrown with ivy and weeds, and I wonder if there's any chance I'll ever find the grave of my relative.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.