A Walk in Duthie Park

A cold and cloudy day. Not really a day for a walk in the park. Despite having a slightly heavier coat on than previous days it still felt quite cool, with a dampness in the air which slightly west of Aberdeen becomes rain.

The photograph shows the bandstand and obelisk in Duthie Park. The obelisk dates from 1860 and is made from pink Peterhead granite, the bandstand instead dates from 1893 and had appeared on my Blips at least once previously.

There is quite an interesting description of the park and the architectural features contained therein on this web site.

As the day was rather inclement I retreated first to the Winter Garden and then to the cafeteria which has recently reopened. It looks like it is operated by the same management as the cafeteria in Hazlehead Park. This one is not as pleasantly furnished and only occupies a small part of the cafeteria building. Still it is better than being closed.

In the interests of full disclosure the photograph is not quite as it came out of the camera. I took a bracketed exposure and may have played around with it a little in processing. As I have posted a picture of the bandstand on a previous occasion I thought I should vary the picture on this occasion. Not over done I hope!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.