Evacuee day

Gulliver with his friend Charlie, the whole of year 6 were dressed as evacuees and the teachers, they looked great, I loved all the caps, braces, headscarves and knitwear, they had a fun day baking apple buns, cookies and making spam and jam sandwiches, they even had a dance event!

I spent a couple of hours tonight combing through paperwork from my Mother's parents filing cabinet that I broight home a few months ago, I found papers from war time, letters from my Mother to her parents age 5 when she was an evacuee in Shropshire, a photo of my Grandfather in the home guard and his papers, paers relating to the repair and use of a gun my Grandfather owned that he used in the Home Gurad, air raid instructions, a pamphlet on food in war time and a newspaper cutting about my Grandmother's cousin, he was one of 4 brothers who were all pilots, he had been part of a team that sank a U-boat and was in the paper with a photo of himself, I am lending all these to Gulliver's teacher to share with the class.

It's my Miother's Birthday today, I found this beautiful photo of her in the papers tonight, we all spoke on the phone and will have lunch on Sunday, happy Birthday Mummy xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.