Colstro

By Colstro

Street entertainer

I went to Covent Garden today (on my way to Stanford's once again to buy some more maps). As always, the area around the market place was busy with visitors, but one particular area was crammed full of people in front of a temporary stage. I had no idea what was going on, but suddenly a loud cheer went up as people recognised whoever it was coming on to the stage. (I couldn't see a thing.) Then the music started up, and I realised that it was Paul McCartney and supporting musicians, performing live, in front of the enthusiastic crowd. It was only a brief performance - four numbers if I remember correctly, including his latest single performed twice - to start and finish the rather brief set. Then he disappeared and the crowd dispersed. I have no idea why they went to the enormous expense and effort of preparing for and delivering this extremely brief concert, but clearly a lot of people knew what was going to happen.

In the meantime, the usual street entertainers carried on amusing the crowds. This particular guy was definitely one of the better entertainers I have seen there. He was a magician, performing some relatively conventional tricks (balls appearing and disappearing under upturned cups), but his banter was excellent, his interaction with the crowd superb, and he was one of the funniest performers I have enjoyed in quite a while. I think you get a feeling for this from the expressions on the faces of the large crowd attracted to his act. This was one entertainer who made you feel it was worth donating money to at the end of the performance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.