When You're a Stranger

I joined the Blipfoto "When You're a Stranger" project because I'm very shy about asking strangers if I can take photos of them, and thought this would force me to get over that.

On Day 3 after the little Ilford camera arrived, number 15, I found my stranger.

Full disclosure -- I'd never met this kind man before, but I did recognize him as I walked across the Fairhaven Village Green at midday, because his wonderful murals enhance many locations in Bellingham, including the Fairhaven Village Green. Lanny Little is currently refurbishing that mural, which was painted 13 years ago, and once he's done, a clear protective coating will be applied.

I was thrilled to meet him, and stammered out my explanation of the Blipfoto project and why I needed to take his photo twice. The first one, which I took on the little Ilford camera, shows him next to the Fairhaven mural. Lanny suggested the one you see here, showing him beside his self-portrait, also part of that mural (see it in context in the link above).

I've featured his work here several times, including one small section of the Fairhaven Village Green Mural with a short-term addition, a portion of the remarkable Parkade mural, and part of the large Old Town mural in downtown Bellingham, with the temporary addition of my photogenic daughter.

Now to find the next person to seek out a stranger! Please leave me a note in the comment section if you're interested in participating in this Blipfoto project, using Ilford Black & White Camera 15, which has just one shot left on it.

If I can talk to strangers, you can too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.