Dotty

By Dotty

Day 29 - Sober for October

And back down to earth with a bump.

I dropped the hire car off yesterday and had to 'fess up to the Lesser Spotted Litterbin attacking me from the rear. Unfortunately it was one of the bloody bif heavy square seaside variety. The cost of our holiday may have just tripled from the original (it already doubled from last year with the cost of the hire car).

Then it was wellies on and trudging through the pouring rain to pick up ironing which couldn't wait until Monday, apparently.

And nothing on the doormat from the hospital. No news is good news, I guess but I'd always rather know one way or the other. I can cope with pretty much anything life throws at me, but uncertainty is my Achilles Heel.

And I'm missing my boys like never before. This last week was such a turning point for us as a family. I was never a natural mother - I worked hard at doing what I thought were all the right things but I was never relaxed enough to enjoy those two little people for the joy they are. Last week I did relax with them and I was rewarded beyond measure.

Roll on the Christmas holidays!

(and to add insult to injury I'm out at work in half an hour cleaning someone else's holiday home: this one could house our little seaside cabin in the kitchen!)

I'll be fine once I've had a cup of tea and got going. And a run this afternoon I think will do me good. And getting the sitting room ceiling painted. And filling the last raised bed. And finding sticks for the peas which have burst through already! Lots and lots to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.