Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

The Grapevine

I really do want to say that I took this photo....but I didn't. I was actually the one behind the wheel driving down the freeway. My brother took this shot and I love how the road is blurred and everything else is in focus. This is the grapevine on the 5 freeway in California. I want to assume it's called that because grapes are grown on the flatlands before the mountains.

Anyway, I did a lot of driving this week. First down to Oceanside and then to Lemoore, CA where my brother was based for the last 4 1/5 years. Lemoore is a tiny town out in the middle of nowhere, but to be more precise in the Central Valley in California somewhere in the Fresno radius. I've never driven so much before. Most of my driving has consisted of going to school and running errands around our area. The three and half hour drive back and forth was definitely an experience. I have proven to my family (aunts included) that I can drive for extended amount of time and survive.

Well we went to Lemoore to pick up the rest of my brother's things at his place. We packed my car up as much as we could, but there was still some stuff left behind. My brother said maybe on Friday we will go back up. I'm not looking forward to going back. Driving sure does get tiring.

___
BTW, a little story about our ride back home. As reached the foot of the mountains pictured above, the rechargeable battery on my car was nearing empty. I could feel the power slowly disappearing from 1.3 liter, battery assisted engine. I had to push down on the pedal with all my might to get over the mountain. At some points I was only going 55 in the most inner lane (quite dangerous in the California driving environment). Luckily though, we hobbled through the mountain and made it to the downhill other side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.