Night Waves

Belhaven Bay before very early this morning.

I wakened in the middle of the night and looked out to find the night still and clear, then checked the tide which was high at 3.30AM. Popping down to the shore was an easy decision, tripod and remote control packed along with the rest on the back of the bike.

As I looked around and set up the camera, clouds were rolling in slowly from the south so I turned away from the moon to catch some stars. The clouds reflected the light from distant Edinburgh and nearer North Berwick. The Bass Rock lighthouse lit up and the towns on the Fife coast shimmered in the moonlit night.

10 seconds gave me 2 big waves per exposure, with the sea delivering a big set every few minutes. Some torch-light let me paint the waves into the image. These looked good on the little camera screen, and needed a little attention this morning - after a good kip and a long lie-in!

The experience gave me some ideas to take this concept a bit further, so I can expect more Night Waves to come...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.