Combi31

By Combi31

Citroën

This is an old Citroën Traction Avant - 'traction avant' means front-wheel drive, and it was enough at the time to tell the model from the others available without having to add 'Dci, Gtv, GTi, DBS,' etc.

Some people love them, some hate them - for me I love them, but for others of the older generation they are a stark reminder of the war, evoking memories of the Vichy government, The Gestapo and The French Milice.

Today we went to 'Les Vieux Guidons de le Bastide' in Grenade, which holds an annual event of drinking wine, eating Saucisse de Toulouse, châtaignes grillées (roast chestnuts) and old cars and motorbikes - I've been promising for 2 years to go with The Lambretta and the Combi, but haven't quite made it yet.

I met some of my combi club mates there and another who helped with some tuning with the Lambretta - a very jovial affair.

I said I may be back this afternoon, but after a large family lunch, which was eaten outside on the terrace, and a rugby match on tv, I don't think that will happen.

The weather is quite hot - we had to get the parasols out to get the table in the shade - superb!!

I hope your Sunday is a good one

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.