Combi31

By Combi31

Kingfisher

Went out this afternoon to get a shot of a kingfisher, and with this in mind I took my hide.

The kingfisher turned up, although it perched a little way away from where I was, but I saw it fishing through my binoculars which was fabulous and found where the fishing perch is, so that was good.

Kingfishers are birds of habit - they tend to favour certain branches and spots for fishing, so if you can get a glimpse of one, you are almost sure that they will return to them at some point.

They are also quite tolerant to a little movement, but if they see you, they will be off rapidly.

I also had a sandpiper land about 3 meters from my hide, I could see it clearly through the side windows, but knew that if I moved my camera and tripod that it would be off.
So next time I may take my son's bridge camera for the lucky shots that nearly always arise.

This shot is a little noisy ... not surprising when you look at the ISO setting, due to the evening drawing in.

I hope you are having a good start to the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.