Come into the Garden

By aprecious

When You're a Stranger: Kay in Rossendale

This is Kay. She is a small holder in Rossendale keeping cows, a horse, chickens and dogs. She is wearing 5 visible layers and the best hat I have seen in a long time , so I'm guessing she spends a lot of time outside. The sun was shining today but maybe she doesn't feel the warmth? She was up on the field walking her dogs: Merlin and a lovely spaniel whose name I can't remember. She used to be a carer in an old people's home.

I said to Kay, "I'm part of a project taking photographs of strangers. Can I take yours?"

She said, "Aye."

I said, "Do you have the internet?"

She said, "No, because it costs money to set it up doesn't it?"

I said, "Yes. It does."

She said, "I've heard it's a good thing."

I said, "Yes, and also a bad thing at times."

She said, "I've heard that, an' all."

Then we talked about how she'd checked on her cows and was now taking her afternoon constitutional.

I remain unconvinced that I rolled the camera on far enough, or indeed that I actually snapped Kay so if in the end she's not on the roll here she is by means of documentary.

Who would like the camera next? Ellaphant, who was the person you suggested?

I will certainly catch up a bit today, hopefully.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.