DDW

By DDW

A Memory

Now, this is going to show my age. When I was a child, my family would travel back and forth across the Atlantic Ocean from England to the United States by ocean liner. In those days, it was still cheaper to sail than it was to fly, and consequently I got to travel aboard such legends as the Queen Mary, the Liberte, and the France.

The voyage would take five days, and although my parents relished the time at sea, it could become pretty boring for two little girls! When I was about five years old, we sailed on the SS France. There was a fancy dress competition for children, and my clever mother somehow managed to fashion costumes for my sister and me to represent Little Bo Peep (my sister) and her sheep (me). We won first prize!

This is the prize. A very fancy presentation folder containing six lovely illustrations of old French songs. On the back of the illustrations appear the lyrics and music for each song. Inside the folder's cover was also a 45 rpm record of the songs (now lost).

I've held on to this treasure for over fifty years! Maybe some day, if I ever have a grand daughter, I will frame these pretty prints for her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.