Dancersend

By Dancersend

Foraying in the rain

I was searching out toadstools in Chilterns beechwoods today and it was quite pleasant in steady light rain. Then there were a series of enormous rolls of thunder, the wind got up and the heavens just opened. On my way back to shelter I spotted this lovely toadstool and had to get some shots despite the risk to my camera and the growing discomfort of water trickling down my neck. It is Stropharia aeruginosa, one of the Roundheads with a striking sticky blue-green cap and purple-brown gills. I realise now that the colour hasn't come out too well and wished I'd put up with a bit more discomfort to try adjusting the angle and quality of light. However, at least I am now drying out.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.