Juvenile Shag

Two weeks ago I decided to buy myself a new camera. After many years of being a Pentax owner and user, I bought a small Panasonic FP3 just before I joined blipfoto almost three years ago. A small compact to take with me when running. It has given sterling service, but I have been frustrated by the small zoom at times. Also the absence of any sort of manual control. So I started taking the bid DSLR with telephoto lens; but that was not really running, as it is too heavy and cumbersome.

I became interested in what have been called bridge cameras. Not SLRs, but offering similar flexibility although with a single non-interchangeable lens, often with a considerable zoom function. After six months of thought, vacillation, and native conservatism, I took the plunge and purchased a Panasonic FZ70.

I have then spent some time reading the instruction manual; skimmed all the bits I'm not that fussed about, and ignored the sections on video. Finally reached a state of assuredness, that while I need to practice, I know what to do to make this as much of a manual control camera as I want.

So, today was the day for the first carry while running. I went down to Western Springs Lake as it is spring and the lake is a conservation and breeding area. I had great fun, being able to get "close" to the birds with ease. The viewfinder option (the image shown in the LCD Monitor is shown in the viewfinder) became as natural as with the SLR. Chose to leave it all automatic today.

I chose this to blip as this very young Pied Shag (I think) stayed unmoving as I took a couple of photos. Really good in large.

Carried on around the lake, stopping here and there for more photos. Just before I reached the turn to head away from the lake and run home. I stumbled and fell; heavily. Just the third fall in many years of running. One camera sounded broke from the fall. Great sadness as well as pain.

Camera a confirmed write off; insurance has accepted the claim, and there is one of these left in the shop. So not a total disaster. Merely a touch of skin loss, pain and a haematoma. And a lesson to be more careful.

I have decided to add some of the other shots I got to my blipfolio
New Zealand Scaup
Sparrow
Paradise Shelduck (putangitangi)
Goose and goslings

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.