My Salvation

At the moment the drone of the cicadas is competing with the drone of the helicopters.
It's hot and smoky, but mercifully there is no wind.

This is all set to change in the next couple of days and so I have made preparations.
The gutters are clean; we've packed a couple of bags and the bath is full.
Some have packed a lot of stuff, but we have so much that I can't begin to think about what to take.
We have reduced our lives to two bags which contain the laptops, two hard drives and some papers.
And my harbour bridge vase.
That's it.

God knows why I've filled the bath. Perhaps I can jump in and be boiled alive.
I've lived here for thirty two years and seen several bushfires, but it would seem that what we are experiencing now is something entirely different.

There's talk of three large fires merging and the A word is being mentioned.
Apocalyptic.

Cymbeline has returned to blip after quite a long break. Her view of the crisis looks like what I see from my balcony.

For another angle, check out Hobbs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.