South Wraxall

One thing I have noticed about Wiltshire is that the press are very good at telling you what you have just missed, when you could have done with being told about it beforehand so that you might actually attend it. I was pleased, therefore, when an announcement appeared on Facebook of a launch event, presumably to drum up last minute interest as it was happening that very afternoon at a rare plant nursery in South Wraxall, twenty-five miles away.

It was the first sunny day in some time and I had an open afternoon, so an outing to Evolution Plants seemed just the ticket. I browsed their website and then drove over there after lunch. A tour was in progress when I arrived and some VIP guests had glasses of wine. The proprietor was telling anecdotes of his plant gathering expeditions.

There were several professional looking photographers with big long lenses putting my red Pentax to shame, and I spoke to a couple of them. The nursery is reached by a long cul-de-sac and is set in a beautiful setting next to Cumberwell Park golf course. I took a dozen or so pictures and left about 45 minutes later, exploring some little lanes I hadn't been down before.

I later discovered that it had been a pre-launch, intended for invited guests only, and so I decided not to publish my blip until they had gone public, which thankfully they now have.

L.
21.10.2013

Blip #1076
Consecutive Blip #007
Day #1290

Alternatives:
Nursery #1
Nursery #2
Nursery #3

South Wraxall (Flickr set)

Lens: Pentax 18-55mm kit lens

Evolution Plants (their website)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Luluc - Things Behind The Sun (2013)
From Joe Boyd Presents Way To Blue - The Songs of Nick Drake. The original version was recorded in October 1971 for Pink Moon, Nick Drake's final album.

One year ago: On This Day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.