Plus ça change...

By SooB

Science

Today we had two things on our 'to do' list, and achieved both. 1. Breakfast (I know that might seem like something that shouldn't be on a to do list, but we did have to get up very early so Mr B could show us the ropes in the impressive buffet style banquet laid out before us). Turns out breakfast includes lunch, since everyone makes sandwiches to take with them. 2. Science museum: we have been to lots is science museums, with great exhibits for the kids to play with but, after 6 hours in there today I think I can happily vote for NEMO being the best we've been to. The kids, save for a few bursts of 20 minutes or so when they tolerated my company, were off on their own, egging each other on to ever dafter ways of using the equipment, making friends all the way and generally grinning until their faces hurt. Lunch, when their rumbling stomachs finally drove them to come and find me, was had up on the roof terrace which was full of more activities and had great views over the city. We eventually left (sometime after CarbBoy's second head to toe soaking in one of the water 'learning experiences') when it appeared that the kids' brains were full and they were both reduced to that wide-eyed monosyllabic state if children who have seen too much... Happily the shop on the way out revived them somewhat. My scariest memory of the museum was when I thought I'd lost CarbBoy (he was hiding) tied with watching one of the displays in the 'growing up' area - which was a video of a cartoon boy and girl growing up. Absolutely terrifying. I tried to keep the kids away... I mean I'm all for knowledge of body changes, but this was like a cross between the Hulk and Alien with body parts bursting out with agonised expressions from the protagonists). Also in this area were features on drugs and (CarbBoy's fave on this floor) a giant French kissing game. Some explanation required.... Home then for dinner with Mr B and planning for tomorrow. A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.