Management-speak

The image and title may appear tangentially related but bear with me.

I was at my desk pondering on a swag of cliches I heard today.

- going forward
- at the end of the day
- reports furnished
- reputation management
- bed-down

...and my personal favourite (and a new one on me in management-speak terms), 'fungability' (and no, it's not something between your toes or at the back of the cupboard ;-)

Oh, and the leader of our country who said (yet again) when interviewed this morning "the reality is..." (he also says "at the end of day" every time he speaks, which appears to be some sort of party line as they all say it, but I digress). Pity, as he possibly has something to say but my eyes glaze over whenever management speak is trolleyed out (politicians of any flavour or management).

Anyway, here I was pondering on what these terms mean (particularly the vacuous "going forward". Where else do we aim to go?) when these two window cleaners swung into view. We had a brief chat out the window (7 floors up) and they were happy to be blipped.

No management speak from them, just good honest labour. They get the job done efficiently and you can see where they've been.

I begin night 6 of the 747 in my home :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.