Boy has bike, will travel

Another goodbye day today, which will become depressingly frequent now we're both living in different parts of the country. Thank god that it is not too far to travel though in the great scheme of things, even if the options are two buses at an hour and a half ish or two trains and a bus at about an hour and fifteen minutes. Not really much in it, but I decided to take the train this time, as I was trying to frantically catch up on the work that needs to be done. I will catch up with everything eventually.

The half an hour or so walk to the station was lovely, and I got to see a little bit more of Leicester too. So this is of course Thom looking lovely with his bike! I'm looking forward to a time when I can actually just wander round without an ulterior motive. Life doesn't seem to be slowing down anytime soon I will be completely honest...

Once back in Warwick I had to then go to one of my lectures, a very interesting one on the eschatology of Shakespeare's endings. Now I know I may come across as pretty sarcastic, but it was actually genuinely interesting. An average ending for a Shakespeare play lasts 240 lines or around 16 minutes, with the average length of a closing speech being 9.25 lines long. This is always spoken by a male character (sorry ladies!). Normally the time elapsing between the death of a major character and the end of the play is around 64 lines, although Titus Andronicus and Romeo and Juliet have a whopping twice the average length. A similar exception would be Shakespeare's more mature tragedies Othello and King Lear which each only have 16 lines, a mere 1 minute between death and end. All pretty interesting if you ask me! However, I was pretty knackered from the weekend, and will admit to letting my attention fail at a point or too. NB: need more sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.