RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Raindrops Again

How many ways can one photograph raindrops? It seems I might get the chance to explore that very question over the next few days as Hurricane Raymond has stalled about 150 km off the coast of Zihuatanejo and is pumping a steady stream of rain into our area. It has been raining pretty much non-stop for the past 48 hours and the forecast calls for possibly 72 hours more. No torrential damage-causing rains and winds (yet) like with Tropical Storm Manuel, but steady, sink-into-your bones type of rain that was so prevalent in coastal Pacific Northwest. It is still warm enough to be outside, but you don't want to move too far from cover. I set up my tripod on the patio and experimented with a variety of shooting settings to capture some of the many raindrops falling from the sky. I liked the abstract nature of this result, though I think there is still work to be done to best showcase this particular subject (and it looks like I will have ample opportunity to practice).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.