J0shua

By J0shua

Golden City

Today's Harbour adventure saw me end up at Cremorne Point. It started in North Sydney with a bus to city + walk to Circular Quay + notice a big cruise boat at the international terminal and then instantly I had a plan which involved jumping on a ferry, which as luck would have it departs in 4 minutes! The plan didn't involve a blip, I just knew that a opportunity would pop up at some point. So after capturing the cruise boat departing sydney harbour I set about looking for a photo to blip. Well this time the ferry timetable meant I missed a ferry by 3 minutes and had to wait a whole hour for the next one.

The sun had just dipped below the horizon and the light was terrible, there was a 3.5 stops of difference between the sky and foreground. Need to wait for the blue hour to arrive... BUT before the blue hour arrived a new orange dozen minutes presented itself. Fortunately I'd setup the camera and was waiting patiently and playing with composition ideas, The orange glow on the city got stronger as the sun set further and then it disappeared as quickly as it arrived. The three streaks of light are harbour cruises which just hoover around. Sometimes these guys really annoy me and limit photo opportunities other times they really add to the scene, you can decide here.

larger large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.