River of Flowers

By doffy

The Last Blueberry

.... of this year!

Way back in August this blueberry bush was delivered to me by a very nice man. I have been picking handfuls of fruit for the last 3 months and today this was the last berry to ripen and it was delicious!

As you can see from my blip, it was a very sunny day, warm and just lovely - like an extra day of Summer. MrD had taken the day off and has been busy putting the new plastic cladding on the side of the dormer window.

After a cleaning the bathroom, I too spent all day outdoors. I planted up some very small onions, which hadn't grown properly last year. Planted the red fruiting gooseberry into a larger tub. Picked some elderberries and made a very small jar of Elderberry Vodka, which is supposed to help if we think we might be getting a cold. I cut back the black-leaved elderflower and spotted a bumble bee busy in the Mahonia which has a lot more flowers than last year. I pruned the elderflower and did a bit of weeding and collecting leaves too! A very satisfying day :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.