George P. in Stroud

I've been burning the candle for the last few days organising the portraits for the book. Tracking people down and finding suitable times to meet has been tricky. I have thirty people to film in about ten days and I now only have five people left. Unfortunately they are not here at present so I'm hoping that by the time we return from our imminent trip to the Netherlands, I can pin them all down.

I've been sending the images to the book designer and so far he is happy with the results, although the file swapping ahas been a bit hit and miss for some strange reason. I think I've sorted it out this morning , but I must press on with my selection.

this morning I met Jo who has just returned from a trip and I was able to get some shots of her in the gardens of her house what was probably the first new-build co-housing scheme completed in the UK. It is well loved and she is very happy there, and it provided a good location. I then walked along the valley into town as I had to meet George in a local eaterie. He was another of my subjects and yet again was someone I had never met. Luckily he easily spotted my red bag and we nipped out to find a backdrop for a picture.

We actually met in part of the complex which he was instrumental in setting up decades ago now, a training centre for young people being one of its prime facilities. It is the stories of local ventures like these, and the people who were involved in initiating them that this book will record. I think it will be very inspiring and hopefully it will influence other people in starting further vital work for the Stroud community. Maybe others further afield will see what has been achieved here and try to create solutions for their own communities well being.

George has kindly allowed me to use his picture for my blip today and it was good to meet him. He had just returned from his job in Sussex, where he works for several days each week as head of the educational development department of Emerson College.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.