Flagged

The train had got almost to Crewe before I received a text from a colleague who turned out to be on the same train - in fact we'd been sitting in the same coach for three hours! Rather than spend almost an hour at Crewe (haud me back) I got the little train to Stoke for a speedier connection. Stoke on Trent station is handsome in an austere sort of way - but it's a bit of a wind tunnel so I was glad I only had to spend 15 minutes there.

There were lots of workmen in bright orange suits walking up and down the tracks and congregating in groups a little beyond the platform end. Several of them had large chequered flags which they waved when there was a train coming. The one on the left in the photo is just waiting for the sight/sound of a train and then he will unfurl his device.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.