MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Bullocks! Happy In Harlow

I got up early and took some nice shots of the early morning mist over our neighbour's lake as the sun came up.

I decided to try for a sunset from the Stort floodplain in Harlow. I had seen a turning off the A414 which I thought might have possibilities. I soon encountered a ford. The river was in spate after the downpour we had the other night. I left the car and followed public footpath signs. This took me squelching into a field where cattle were grazing in the distance.

I kept to the perimeter of the field and the cattle took no notice of me at first. Then one looked up, closely followed by all the rest. It started to move towards me and the others followed. I love all animals and am not easily spooked but I have read of walkers being trampled by cattle. I started to walk more quickly and swapped my red bag to the other hand where it would not be so visible.

I made for a little footbridge over a stream hoping that the cattle couldn't follow me. Seems that they were making for that too. It was a dead heat. I hopped over the bar onto the bridge just as the first arrived. What a relief! I'm sure they bore me no malice. They were just inquisitive and jostling like naughty boys to get a gander. :)

I couldn't go back to the car that way but no matter, I enjoyed a walk along the towpath to Parndon Mill and beyond. The sunset didn't materialise but I was happy in Harlow, even though it has been named today as the unhappiest town in the UK.

When I got back to the ford a Mercedes was approaching it, I thought about to cross. Turns out the guys had heard that a car had come to grief in it earlier and they wanted to have a look.

(Most of the cattle have ear tags with numbers but it looks like one is called Conor. :) )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.