Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At home: The artist in me......x

I am an artist. I am a photographer. I am a crafter of light?

These questions are always there. Ironically on the way to the Lovers of Light exhibition last night we drop into the National Gallery. I say ironically because as a child I got entranced the light in particular painting at the NG. I remember being almost being moved to tears by the sadness in the painting. The children sobbing. The brushed light running down the faces of the gentlemen. The white flecks of light on the vacuum flask that the housed the dying bird. The contrast in that painting by Joseph Wright of Derby is over powering, dominating, like the subject matter directly challenges the viewer.

I love light. We all do. This is why we take pictures I think. Ironically and relevantly we are all lovers of light. How much crafting can take place within the art of photography? Surly its just another artistic medium, like a painter choosing between oils and pastels. The principle remains the same. Pick up the brush and paint. Pick up a camera and shoot. It's all in the eye of the beholder. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.