Journey Through Time

By Sue

Autumn Glory

For the love of all things Autumn, please take a walk with us as we travel part of the path around Lake Sacajawea in Longview, Washington. Then you can tell me if I came anywhere close in choosing the right image to put on Blip.

It was a clear day, after morning fog, but the inversion is taking hold and the air was a trifle "thick", so the light was softened quite a bit. The afternoon sun was sometimes a bit of a problem, photography wise. And, the color of the trees are not fully developed, although a few trees, like these, strutted their stuff. Some of the reflections, like this one, were really pretty. And that duck on that branch (you need to see the first few images on Flickr!) in the water was truly a gift, and I wish I could have gotten it better. But, I do what I can.

I wouldn't mind living across from this park for the whole of a year to see it in all it's different moods, but I will make do with the few times we travel northward to see this pretty place. It is a man-made lake, completed in 1926. It was created out of a natural slough that was once there. There was a competition to name the lake and 4 people came up with this name and they all split the prize of $25.00. I bet they were thrilled. Thank goodness the park service puts up nice little bits of information like this for us to read on the trail.

All in all, a wonderful outing. See ya later, kids.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.