Sparkey

By Sparkey

Another Epic Fail for the Met Office...

After last night's star trails were cut short by cloud cover that the Met Office somehow failed to predict, Clamb decided to check out what they had to say about tonight. Clear skies was the prediction. Fair enough, I'm dubious, but let's see how this pans out.

After the sun goes down I get a text from the Big Man. Skies are crystal clear over at his gaff! Yippee! So, I grab my kit and jump in the car. An hour later, I'm over the Forth in Burntisland with Clamb and we're setting up the cameras. The Met Office said there'd be clear skies and there are...

...NOT! We're just about to take a test shot when my partner in crime points out a small problem - There's not a patch of clear sky! Seriously - north, south, east, west - nothing but really thick, low hanging cloud! Where the hell did all that come from?!

Time for Plan B. The location we had chosen for our ill-fated star trails expedition overlooks a nice little road with a couple of curves that disappears off into the distance. Since it's pitch black, if we get a few cars going by it would be an ideal spot to capture some light trails. At least the night isn't going to be a bust.

This was my favourite light trails shot of the night. You can see it larger on my Flickr if you want.

Before we left, Clamb had the idea to take a shot of Arthur's Seat, all the way back over the Forth in Edinburgh. I gave it a try too and I've posted the result on Flickr for anyone who's interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.