Sparkey

By Sparkey

Let's Try That Again, Shall We...?!

After last time out, I vowed not to make the same mistakes again. So this time I set the camera up before I left the house so I wasn't fumbling about in the dark and messing everything up.

Quality set to maximum? Check.
Shutter set to 30 second exposure? Check.
Aperture set to f3.5? Check.
ISO 400? Check.
Camera set to multiple exposures? Check.
Focus set to manual? Check.
Attached the cable release? Check.

Right, all I need to do when I get there is put the camera on the tripod, point it in the right direction, remember to remove the lens cap and set the focus.

So, off I trot down to Newhaven Harbour to meet Clamb. Managed to set the camera up and kick it off without incident. Hooray! Surely nothing can spoil the result tonight, right?

Wrong. I forgot for a moment that this is Scotland. Otherwise known as the Met Office's blind-spot. They seem to just make up the weather report for here. The "clear skies" they promised turned out to be a myth. Out of the 124 images I took, the longest consecutive run of images I got that were unmolested by cloud was 21! Hence the rather sort looking trails in the picture.

Ah well. I'm still pretty happy with the result, all things considered. It looks better large, but I'm sure it would have looked wicked awesome if I'd been able to use all the images. At least it wasn't my fault that not everything went to plan this time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.